Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeNewsTop NewsConstruction begins on Delhi Metro’s Phase IV in India

Construction begins on Delhi Metro’s Phase IV in India

Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has commenced construction on Phase 4 of Delhi Metro at Haiderpur Badli Mor in New Delhi, India.

Piling work at Haiderpur Badli Mor was started as part of Phase 4’s first civil contract for the construction of a portion of the Janakpuri West – R. K Ashram Marg Corridor.

The scope of the civil contract involves the construction of 10 stations – Keshopur, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi, Mangolpuri, West Enclave, Pushpanjali, Deepali Chowk, Madhuban Chowk, Prashant Vihar and North Pitampura.

The 28.9km Janakpuri West- R. K Ashram Marg corridor is an extension of Magenta Line and will have 22 stations.

DMRC said: “The tenders for the remaining stations of this corridor are also nearing finalisation. Tenders for civil construction have already been floated for the other planned corridors and two more contracts have already been awarded.”

DMRC said that the entire corridor is elevated and the work includes the part design and construction of the elevated viaduct, elevated ramp, siding line and station buildings from Keshopur to Haiderpur Badli Mor. Work on the corridor will last for 30 months.

Upon completion, the corridor will have six interchange stations at Peeragarhi (with Green Line), Madhuban Chowk (with Red Line), Haiderpur Badli Mor (with Yellow Line), Majlis Park (with Pink Line), Azadpur (with Yellow and Pink Lines) and R K Ashram Marg (with Blue Line).

DMRC said that during the Haiderpur Badli Mor Metro station construction on the Yellow Line as part of Delhi Metro’s Phase 3, provisions were kept for its expansion as an interchange facility which is expected to reduce construction time as well as costs in Phase 4.

The platforms of Haiderpur Badli Mor at a height of 23.5m will be built above the Phase 3 station.

DMRC has secured approval for three corridors of Phase 4 under which, 61.679km of new metro lines are expected to be constructed across three corridors comprising 45 metro stations.

The new sections are expected to provide interconnectivity among the already operational sections of Delhi Metro.


Most Popular

Hot News